It looks like you're using an outdated web browser. For the best and most secure way to view the ABAC website, please upgrade to the latest version. Close

Student Government

The Student Government Association is the voice of the students at ABAC and provides many opportunities for leadership. The eligibility form is available on the ABAC homepage–  Deadline for eligibility submission is Friday, March 13 @ 11:59pm. Duties outlined below with stipend amount specified (for election year; paid 1/2 per semester served).

President ($1000)

  1. Functions as head of the student body in all student affairs and in student relations with ABAC officials and administration.
  2. Gives monthly address or interview with appropriate student media..
  3. Meets with ABAC President monthly to present SGA recommendations and student body concerns and petitions.
  4. Accompanies Admissions officials to help recruit students at least once a semester, and ensure that an SGA booth is present for Stallion days and staffed by SGA officers throughout the day.
  5. Meets with ABAC Ambassadors monthly to discuss how SGA can continue to better serve student needs and assist with recruitment and retention of students.
  6. Gives welcome at Freshmen Convocation.
  7. Schedules and attends bi-monthly meetings of SGA and informs SGA advisor and Dean of Students of the location and time. SGA President must also inform students of meetings’ location and time electronically and email SGA advisor to post the information on the SGA webpage on the ABAC website. SGA President has the authority to email students directly, but only after the email has been reviewed by SGA advisor.
  8. Researches and invites guest speakers to SGA meetings to address topics of relevance to the student body, such as but not limited to, community leadership, how leaders can influence policy relating to social justice and equality, and potential careers in politics.


Vice President ($800)

  1. Acts in full capacity of the President in case of his/her absence and succeeds President in case of vacancy.
  2. Presides over SGA meetings, plans and implements agenda. Calls and tallies votes once motions are passed and seconded.
  3. Writes monthly column in the ABAC newspaper or other appropriate student media notifying student body of SGA activities and future plans.
  4. In charge of community outreach. Will research community organizations and present recommendations on how ABAC students can best engage with the community, such as, but not limited to, volunteer opportunities.


Senators ($600)

  1. Hold at least 2 hours of “constituency time” weekly during which the student body may meet directly with the Senator. Also communicate electronically with student constituents at least once a month addressing any questions or concerns raised by students. Senators have the authority to communicate electronically with their constituents directly, but only after the email has been reviewed by SGA advisor.
  2. Meet monthly with Dean of School to present and discuss student body concerns and petitions specific to the Senator’s School.
  3. Each Senator will perform a task specific to the successful promotion and functionality of SGA and be designed an officer of that task. The positions are: Recording Secretary, Treasurer, Social Media Liaison, Public Relations and Communications Liaison, Dean of Students Liaison, and Liaison for Non-traditional Students.  SGA members to specifically address the required tasks, based upon the changing needs of the organization, will be determined at first meeting.

SGA Excuse Form
Campaign Guidelines




Get Involved!

There are more than 40 student organizations on the ABAC campus! Get involved in campus activities to get the most out of your college experience. | More »

Youth Apprentice Program

More »

Two Students Win Top Awards

Two academic awards were presented to the most outstanding graduates during Thursday’s Spring commencement ceremony.

Samuel Peraza, a journalism major from Loganville, received the George P. Donaldson award for associate degree graduates, and Allison Gordy, a natural resource management major from Sharpsburg, was named the recipient of the ABAC Alumni Association Award for bachelor’s degree graduates.

More »

Financial Aid & Admissions Night

Tuesday, May 12, 5 pm -7 pm in the Ag Science Building

Tuesday, June 2, 5 pm -7 pm in the Ag Science Building

Tuesday, June 16, 5 pm -7 pm in the Ag Science Building

Tuesday, June 30, 5 pm -7 pm in the Ag Science Building

More »

ABAC Men’s Team Places 3rd in the Nation

The men’s tennis team had the highest finish of any ABAC intercollegiate sports team during the 2014-15 year with a third place finish for the Stallions in the national tournament.


More »