It looks like you're using an outdated web browser. For the best and most secure way to view the ABAC website, please upgrade to the latest version. Close

Doerun Student Wins Top Academic Award at ABAC Honors Day

April 21, 2017

Ashley G. Pelham,a senior business and economic development major from Doerun, was named the top academic student at Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College when she received the J.G. Woodroof Award at Thursday’s Honors Day ceremony.

Pelham has been on the President’s List and the Dean’s List while pursuing her Bachelor of Business & Economic Development degree at ABAC.  She holds a grade point average of 3.9 on a 4.0 scale.   Pelham plans on completing a summer internship and should graduate at the ABAC commencement ceremony on Dec. 14.

When not focusing on her academics, Pelham is devoted to her family and work duties.  She says of her professors in the Stafford School of Business, “They have a passion for education and encourage personal and professional growth of their students.”

Woodroof was the first president of ABAC in 1933.  Each of the 28 units of the University System of Georgia selects a top student as the Academic Recognition Day Student of the Year who is also honored in a proclamation by the Georgia General Assembly. Pelham received a resolution from the Georgia State Senate and House of Representatives and attended a special luncheon and Board of Regents’ meeting in March.

A total of 21 discipline awards were also presented at the Honors Day ceremony to ABAC students who excelled in their individual disciplines.  In the School of Agriculture and Natural Resources, the associate degree discipline award winner in environmental horticulture technology was Coleman W. Hice from Gray.

Discipline award winners enrolled in the bachelor’s degree program in agriculture included Madison G. Harkins from Greensboro in agribusiness; Alexis K. Floyd of Clyo in crop production; Kory P. Herrington from Vienna in crop and soil science; Jessica R. Casaday from Jefferson in education; Anna Marie Pugh from Mathews, Ala., in general studies; and Robert T. Stephens from Buford in livestock production.

Discipline award winners enrolled in the bachelor’s degree in natural resource management included Joseph M. Garrett from Box Springs in forestry and Edward T. Stonecypher from Eastman in wildlife.  Mackenzie C. Johnson from Tifton received the discipline award for the bachelor’s degree in environmental horticulture.

Hannah M. Rooks from Ashburn received the discipline award for the bachelor’s degree in business and economic development from the Stafford School of Business.  The School of Human Sciences awarded Deidre L. Green of Sylvester with the discipline award for social and community development in the rural studies bachelor’s degree.

Jay G. Branch of Tifton and Hanna C. Ivey from Sumner each received the discipline award for the associate’s degree in fine arts from the School of Liberal Arts.   Other discipline winners from the School of Liberal Arts included rural studies bachelor’s degree students Courtney L. Petitgout of Chester, S.C., in agricultural communication; Crystal A. York from Pavo in writing and communication; and Mary E. Roberson of Ambrose in politics and modern cultures.

The discipline award winners in the School of Nursing and Health Sciences were Ellen C. Frantz from Abbeville for the associate degree in nursing and Victoria A. Shaver from Centerville for the bachelor’s degree in nursing.  The discipline award from the School of Science and Mathematics for the bachelor’s degree in biology went to Kelly M. Delgado of Omega for the general track and Elias Moreno from Moultrie for the pre-professional track.
Printable News Release