It looks like you're using an outdated web browser. For the best and most secure way to view the ABAC website, please upgrade to the latest version. Close

Sylvester Student Wins Top Academic Award at ABAC Honors Day

April 7, 2016

Hayley L. Dupree, a senior business and economic development major from Sylvester, was named the top academic student at Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College when she received the J.G. Woodroof Award at Wednesday’s Honors Day ceremony.

Dupree has been on the President’s or Dean’s List for each semester she has attended ABAC and has an overall grade point average of 3.83.  She has completed an internship with State Farm through the Stafford School of Business, which has led to a job when she graduates in May.

Woodroof was the first president of ABAC in 1933.  Each of the 30 units of the University System of Georgia selects a top student as the Academic Recognition Day Student of the Year who is also honored in a proclamation by the Georgia General Assembly. Dupree received a resolution from the Georgia State Senate and House of Representatives and attended a special luncheon and Board of Regents’ meeting in March.

A total of 21 discipline awards were also presented at the Honors Day ceremony to ABAC students who excelled in their individual disciplines.  Discipline award winners obtaining associate degrees in the School of Agriculture and Natural Resources included Davis H. Pollock from Cairo, Diversified Agriculture; Ricky D. Powell from Mableton, Environmental Horticulture Technology; and Ryan M. Falk from Dublin, Forestry Technology.

Discipline award winners working toward a bachelor’s degree in diversified agriculture included Amanda L. Stitt from Sharpsburg, Agribusiness; David B. Sutherland of Cordele, Crop Production; Matthew D. Makorow from Nashville, Crop and Soil Science; Nelson R. Rentz of Ehrhardt, S.C., Diversified Agriculture general track; and Kendall C. Singleton from Thomaston, Livestock Production.

Discipline winners working toward a bachelor’s degree in the field of natural resource management included David-Lee Bradford from Macon, Forestry; and Marion E. Huggins of Walterboro, S.C., Wildlife.  The discipline winner working toward a bachelor’s degree in Turfgrass and Golf Course Management was Nicholas P. Martin of Naples, Fla.

Rilea F. Staph from Jackson received the discipline award in the bachelor’s degree in Business and Economic Development from the Stafford School of Business.  The School of Human Sciences awarded Rural Studies bachelor’s degree candidate Casey D. Walters of Sycamore with the discipline award for Social and Community Development.

William Dalton Hancock of Sycamore received the discipline award for the associate’s degree in Fine Arts with an emphasis in Music from the School of Liberal Arts.   Other discipline winners from the School of Liberal Arts included Rural Studies bachelor’s degree students Hillery S. Reeves of Rebecca, Agricultural Communication; Lisa S. Stephens of Turin and Whitni P. Tucker from Sparks, Writing and Communication; and Daniel J. Avellaneda of Lyons, Politics and Modern Cultures.

The discipline award winner in the School of Nursing and Health Sciences was Julie Richardson of Valdosta.  The discipline award from the School of Science and Mathematics for the bachelor’s degree in the Biology general track went to Alan C. Valdiviezo of Fitzgerald, and Dementris L. Williams from Tifton received the discipline award in the Biology pre-professional track.
Printable News Release