It looks like you're using an outdated web browser. For the best and most secure way to view the ABAC website, please upgrade to the latest version. Close

ABAC Students Inducted Into National Residence Hall Honorary

May 7, 2015

Twenty students were inducted into the first National Residence Hall Honorary (NRHH) in a recent ceremony at Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College.   The NRHH is a service organization of the National Association of College and University Residence Halls (NACURH), Inc.

The NRHH is designed to give local, regional, and national recognition to students making outstanding contributions to their residence halls.  NRHH is the only nationwide organization that recognizes residence hall leaders.  Membership in local chapters is limited to one percent of a school’s residence hall population, or 20 members, whichever is larger.  NRHH exists to honor those students who work hard, and all too often go unnoticed.

NACURH believes in the value of student involvement in residence hall life through community service, social programs, and educational programs.

The ABAC students selected for the initial induction ceremony of the NRHH exemplify the qualities of both organizations.  They included freshmen Victoria Cagle, a nursing major from Conyers; Rachel Casel, a biology major from Chuluota, Fla.; Kaylee Ewing, an accounting major from Monroe; Oscar Fabian, a mechanical engineering major from Douglas; Emily Johnson, an early childhood education major from Richmond Hill; Madison Lynn, a diversified agriculture major from Vidalia; Thomas Resendiz, an engineering major from Baxley, Jennifer Richter, an animal science major from Atlanta; and Megan Wehmeier, a music major from Douglas.

Hazlehurst natives Laura Agundis, an allied health major, and Omar Franco, an early childhood education major, were the only two sophomores inducted into the NRHH.  Juniors Rakeem Alexander, a business and economic development major from Moultrie; Trent Hester, a rural studies–writing and communication major from Sale City; Kaytlyn Malia, a diversified agriculture major from Carnesville; and Ja’Quez West, a psychology major from Irwinton, were also inducted as initial members.

Shawn Burnette, a rural studies–politics and modern cultures major from Cordele; Brooke Cooley, a diversified agriculture major from Lutz, Fla.; Allison Gordy, a natural resources management major from Newnan; Samuel Green, a diversified agriculture major from Douglas; and Mackenzie Sirmans, a rural studies–social and community development major from Douglas, were the seniors inducted in the first ceremony of the NRHH at ABAC.
Printable News Release