It looks like you're using an outdated web browser. For the best and most secure way to view the ABAC website, please upgrade to the latest version. Close

Senate Resolution Presented to ABAC at State Capitol

Representative Jay Roberts of Tifton (front left) conferenced with students and faculty from the History and Political Science Department at Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College during the Georgia General Assembly last week after presenting them with Senate Resolution 990.

TIFTON – Students from American Government Classes and the Political Science Club at Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College traveled to see the Georgia General Assembly in action last week.  The students were accompanied by Dr. Joseph Njoroge, Department Head of History and Political Science, Dr. Hans Schmeisser, and Ms. Catherine Funk.

While there, they accepted Senate Resolution 990, which commended ABAC on the 106th anniversary of its founding and the accomplishments of the Rural Studies program and its students. During the visit the group met with Representatives and Senators, viewed the House and Senate floor action, lunched with lobbyists and received a tour of the capitol.

Andrew Smith, ABAC’s representative in the Georgia Legislative Intern Program and aide to Sen. Steve Henson (D-Tucker), drafted SR 990.  Due to Henson’s close ties to the Senate Democratic Caucus, he and several other caucus members agreed to sponsor it along with Senators John Crosby (R-Tifton) and Tyler Harper (R-Ocilla).   The Georgia State Senate unanimously adopted the resolution on February 20, ABAC’s 106 birthday.

Students in attendance for the trip to the capitol included Lisa Adkins, a Political Science major from Ashburn; Mizell Allen, a Political Science major from Tifton; Olivia Kline, an ACCEL student from Moultrie; Josh Little,  a Political Science major from Monroe; Julia Smith an ACCEL student from Moultrie; and Russell Zirkle, III,  a Political Science major from Lakeland.

Printable News Release