It looks like you're using an outdated web browser. For the best and most secure way to view the ABAC website, please upgrade to the latest version. Close

Fort Valley Resident to Receive ABAC Award April 4

Alisha Hall from Fort Valley will be presented with the 2014 Helen Brown Sasser Award on April 4 at Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College during the annual ABAC Alumni Association awards ceremony. 

Advance tickets for the 6 p.m. dinner and awards ceremony in Gressette Gym are $30 each.  No tickets will be available on the day of the event.  The ceremony recognizes ABAC alumni who impacted the college and their communities in significant ways. 

For more information or to purchase tickets, interested persons can call the College Advancement office at (229) 391-4895 or visit the web site at    

The Helen Brown Sasser Award is presented annually in recognition of alumni who have distinguished themselves by successfully balancing traditional family values with career and community service.  Support of ABAC is also taken into consideration.  When the award was first presented in 1959, it was called the Master Homemaker Award.  It was presented during the administration of Helen Brown Sasser, the first female president of the ABAC Alumni Association.   The second oldest award presented by the Alumni Association, it was renamed in her memory in 1997.          

Hall is a 2000 graduate of ABAC, majoring in family and consumer sciences.   She furthered her education at Fort Valley State University, earning her bachelor’s degree in family and consumer sciences.  She is currently pursuing her master’s degree in family and consumer sciences at Texas Tech University. 

Hall has taught classes at Perry High School and Burke County High School.  She now teaches at Perry Middle School where she has been nominated three times for the school’s Teacher of the Year award since her arrival there in 2006.   

Selected to serve on the Family, Career and Community Leaders of America Board of Directors in 2011, Hall currently serves as the chair of the organization.   She was also among 40 educators nationwide selected by the Food and Drug Administration to participate in a week-long food science workshop in Washington, D.C. in 2012.
Printable News Release