It looks like you're using an outdated web browser. For the best and most secure way to view the ABAC website, please upgrade to the latest version. Close

ABAC’s Phi Theta Kappa Named Five-Star Chapter

The Omega Delta Chapter of the Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) Honor Society at Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College was recently named a Five Star Chapter at the PTK regional conference in Douglas.  The honor completes one of the organization’s multi-year goals.  Being named a Five Star Chapter is the most exclusive status a chapter can achieve. 

The Five Star Chapter Plan recognizes chapters for student engagement, both on campus and in the community. As part of its Five Star efforts, Omega Delta was awarded the 2013 Distinguished Issue Award for its Honors in Action Project: Food Fight.  Demonstrating excellence in academic research and leadership, the student-led project encompassed a range of activities including a hunger awareness dinner, food waste in the community, and food collection for local pantries.

The Omega Delta Chapter hosts many activities on the ABAC campus including Trick or Treat for Kids, “Welcome Back” events for the faculty, and its newest event, the crowning of the ABAC Homecoming King and Queen in 2014. 

To be eligible for Phi Theta Kappa membership, ABAC students must have at least a 3.5 grade point average on a 4.0 scale and must have completed 12 semester hours.  Members are eligible for over $87 million in scholarship opportunities from Phi Theta Kappa, partnering with senior colleges, universities and foundations. 

Along with scholarships, many leadership and academic awards are available to PTK members.  At ABAC, two students competed for The All-USA Community College Academic Team, which recognizes high achieving two-year college students who demonstrate academic excellence and intellectual rigor combined with leadership and service that extends education beyond the classroom. Receiving the recognition for 2014 were Jessica Gorseth, a criminal justice major from Ball Ground, and Jessica VanDeVelde, a Rural Studies – Social and Community Development major from Omega. 

Omega Delta Chapter officers are Kaitlyn Cawley, President; Russell Webb, Past President;  Shawn Burnett, Vice President – Communications; Jessica Gorseth, Vice President – Scholarship; Jessica VanDeVelde, Yearbook Chairman; Lindsay Partridge, Secretary ; Daniel Moreno, Vice President – Fellowship; and Andrea Smith, Vice President – Service.  Chapter Advisors are Dr. Hans Schmeisser and Kim Talley.  Omega Delta Chapter currently has more than 170 members.
Printable News Release