It looks like you're using an outdated web browser. For the best and most secure way to view the ABAC website, please upgrade to the latest version. Close

Police Academy at ABAC Announces 258th Session Graduates

For IMMEDIATE Release      December 18, 2012

TIFTON—Eighteen individuals from the South Georgia area recently received certificates at graduation exercises for the 258th session of the Georgia Public Safety Training Center (GPSTC) Regional Police Academy at Abraham Baldwin Agricultural College.

Academy Director Marty Smith said the Overall Achievement award for the
session went to Craig A. Billsby of the Albany Police Department. Billsby also received second place in Academics and second place in Firearms. Luke N. Bowdre of the Albany Police Department earned first place in Academics and first place in Firearms.  The president of the 258th session was Ivon A. Folsom of the ABAC Police Department.

Other graduates included Philip J. Poole of the ABAC Police Department;
Charles H. Warren of Adel, sponsored by the GPSTC; Dustin T. Oliver of the Alamo Police Department; Larry J. Hart, Santavis D. Hawkins, Steven E. Johnson, Dedra D. Mack, and Samantha M. Richardson of the Albany Police Department; Joshua C. Cartledge of the Bacon County Sheriff’s Office; Brian D. Lewis of the Bainbridge College Police Department; Jacob L. Johnson of Douglas, sponsored by the GPSTC; Charlie E. Register of the Lakeland Police Department; and John K. Bush, Nicholas R. Smarr, and Jody C. Smith of the Telfair County Sheriff’s Office.

The GPSTC Regional Police Academy regularly holds multi-week intensive
training sessions designed to acquaint officers with state-of-the-art law enforcement techniques. The Academy operates in cooperation with the School of Human Sciences at