It looks like you're using an outdated web browser. For the best and most secure way to view the ABAC website, please upgrade to the latest version. Close

Faculty and Staff

  Professors in the Honors Program have been sought out for their innovative pedagogy, their scholarly achievements, and their student-centered philosophies.  These professors are the heart and soul of ABAC’s Honors Program.  

Read More »

Dr. Cyndy Hall

Director of the Honors Program. Associate Professor of English. Ph.D.  U of California, Riverside. chall@abac.edu. 229-391-4955. Why ABAC? Originally from New York State, Dr. Hall chose ABAC because she prefers the atmosphere in a smaller college where she can develop close relationships with her students and with the people in the... Read More »

Dr. Heather Cathcart

Dr. Heather Cathcart. Assistant Professor of Biology. Ph.D.  Medical College of Georgia. hcathcart@abac.edu. 229-391-5119. Why ABAC? Originally from Savannah, GA, Dr. Cathcart chose ABAC because as a product of the University System of Georgia, she wants to give back and endeavors to instill in her students the same enthusiasm she... Read More »

Dr. Jordan Cofer

Dr. Jordan Cofer. Assistant Professor of English. Ph.D   Texas Tech. jcofer@abac.edu. 229-391-4955. Why ABAC ABAC offers a change to teach at a small college where it is possible/easy to get involved within the college community. After living in several big cities, my wife and I were eager for a... Read More »

Dr. James Galt-Brown

Dr. James Galt-Brown. Associate Professor of History. Ph.D. Mississipi State. Bowen Hall 315 jgbrown@abac.edu. 229-391-5078. Why ABAC? I began teaching as an Adjunct for the University of South Carolina / Coastal Carolina College in the Fall of 1989. Since that time I have had the opportunity to teach at every College... Read More »

Dr. Sandra Giles

Dr. Sandra Giles. Professor of English. Ph.D. Florida State. sgiles@abac.edu. 229-391-4961. Why ABAC? Dr. Giles grew up in Tifton and on the ABAC campus, and she still has family in town. She is particularly excited about the Rural Studies Program, especially the Writing and Communication track, and enjoys a smaller... Read More »

Mr. Philip Hightower

Mr. Philip Hightower Lecturer of Biology M.S Valdosta State University phightower@abac.edu 229-391-5111 Why ABAC? Phil Hightower chose ABAC because he enjoys working with students. He appreciates that our campus and classroom sizes allow faculty to have individual discussions with students about their interests, challenges, and goals. Mr. Hightower’s aim as... Read More »

Dr. Joe Njoroge

Dr. Joe Njoroge. Professor of Political Science. Ph.D.  U of Tennessee, Knoxville. jnjoroge@abac.edu. 229-391-5087. Read More »

Dr. Hans Schmeisser

Associate Professor of Political Science. Ph.D University of Florida. hschmeisser@abac.edu 229-391-5077 Why ABAC? Dr. Schmeisser chose ABAC because of the College’s unique opportunity to build a growing, student-centered baccalaureate program. Academic Expertise Dr. Scheisser’s scholarship concentrates on American Political Institutions and Political Theory. He teaches classes in the Department of... Read More »